I may not have a lot to give but what I got I’ll give to you

First,I need to check in for the 52-52-52 Challenge…both week 5 &6.

Short summary: I lost zero pounds and I gained zero pounds. I lost the book I was reading …so haven’t finished a book at all (unless you count the 14 kids picture books I read during the two weeks).

I joined My Fitness Pal yesterday.

That’s about that on the weighty issue.

One of the kids books we read and LOVED the past week was Phileas’s Fortune: A Story About Self-Expression by Agnès de Lestrade and Illustrated by Valeria Docampo.

  Phileas lives in a world where in order to say something, you have to buy the words you need and then swallow them.Phileas wants desperately to tell Cybele how wonderful she is and how much she means to him. Without money to choose the “right” words, he has to carefully choose his words to tell her how he feels.

The story has an amazing message about  not just the power of words but the power of the emotion and feeling behind the words, as well as the principle that actions sometimes speak louder or can replace words when words fail. There are quite a few positive take-away messages and different ages will have a different understand or feeling after reading. The 6 year old got the message that “Money can’t buy you love”, which is a good thing to realize and embrace.There is plenty of fodder for deeper thinking about education and privilege ….those with the most money have the means to acquire the  most words. Still, the message remains that modest and simple is sufficient and even glorious when you have a lot of heart in it, no matter what you’re trying to express.

I love the illustrations in this book as well. They’re a little steampunk-ish….. a dark factory with robotic workers spews out letters instead of smoke from it’s smokestack. Most of the art is gray or muted colors, except for the pictures where Cybele & Phileas have their exchange, which I think accentuates the blossoming love transpiring on the pages.

Also? On IMDB, Phileas’s Fortune is listed as an animated movie being released this year. Nice!

 

 

We also really liked Perfect Soup by Lisa Moser , Illustrated by Ben Mantle. I don’t know how we ended up reading this . It’s very much a winter-themed book with lots of snow and hot soup and mittens. It felt weird reading it in the middle of a heat wave but we did, 2 nights in a row. Murray the Mouse is quite cute with his dedication to making Perfect Soup perfectly, wanting to follow the recipes exactly. He doesn’t have a carrot and  Perfect Soup absolutely MUST have a carrot. So, in his quest for a carrot , he has to do a slew of favors… or find someone who can help him achieve the favors so he can get his carrot. I was most delighted to meet a grumpy knitter who lives in a tea cozy who no longer is so grumpy when her yarn is neatly wound and her cocoa doesn’t scorch her tongue. Knitters are very easy to please people.

Throughout the story, there’s a sweet snowman trying to get little Murray the Perfectionist to slow the heck down and chillax a bit. Finally, Murray gets it.

Sweet story. Save it for the wintertime.

 

 

 

[blog title from "Can't buy Me Love" ,The Beatles ]

One thought on “I may not have a lot to give but what I got I’ll give to you

  1. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Say it

