The Twitter Files:Zucchini -Crusted Pizza

Twitter is a fantastic microblogging tool but sometimes I’m just a big blabbermouth who feels the need to elaborate pass the 140 characters…..

The Tweet

“making Zucchini-Crusted Pizza, one of my kids’ faves… http://www.recipezaar.com/6…

Beyond the Tweet

The page in my Moosewood cookbook with the recipe for Zucchini-Crusted Pizza looks like it’s … Well. Encrusted with Zucchini-Crusted Pizza. Once upon a time, I was not the Domestic Goddess that I am now and didn’t know that “Put your cookbook/recipe in a big plastic baggie while you’re cooking” trick.

I was young. I wasn’t raised in a household that actually cooked their food. I was figuring it out as I went along.

The Moosewood Cookbook was a yard sale find. The Kid Timeline I judge time by tells me it was probably about 14 or 15 years ago. It was when the First Kid was little …but before the twins were born. Most mother’s are familiar with this sort of timeline. It’s like B.C. and A.D.  but with your kids names substituted for where the Christ part goes.It’s helpful for parents who can’t remember where they put there car keys or what today’s date is ,let alone how much the third kid weighed at birth .

This recipe has been used frequently in our household, whenever zucchini is in season especially. Have you ever noticed that at the end of the summer everyone has a ton of zucchini they’re trying to give away but nobody ever seems to know what the hell they’re supposed to do with it?

(don’t worry…I’m not going to turn this into another sex with phallic shaped veggies post.I promise…)

This is THE solution to what to do with zucchini. The genius part of it is that once it’s covered with sauce and regular pizza toppings, the green bits are cleverly disguised and any kid will devour it. The link to the recipe included in the Tweet is flawed.it is not the original recipe as written by Mollie Katzen and it’s also a little different from how I make it. Over the years,I have adapted the original recipe to suit my own tastes so here is what has become my version:

Zucchini-Crusted Pizza

Preheat oven to 350°

The Crust:

One good sized,zucchini,grated. It typically turns out to be about 3-4 cups

3 eggs,beaten

1/3 cup flour (I use whole wheat)

½ cup mozzarella

¼ parmesan

¼ cheddar

1 tbls basil

salt

Do this:

Salt the zucchini lightly and let it sit for 15 minutes. Squeeze all the excess moisture out of the zucchini. What I do is, squeeze it in handfuls over the sink and transfer the squeezed gratings to the mixing bowl

Combine all the rest of the crust ingredients with the zucchini and spread into an oiled  9 x 13 baking pan. Sometimes it doesn’t seem like it will cover the entire bottom of the pan but if you use a rubber spatula, you can make it stretch.This is a thin but soft crust.

Bake 20-25 minutes,until the surface is dry and firm.

Put all your desired pizza toppings on and throw it back in the oven until heated thoroughly and cheese is nice and melty.

4 thoughts on “The Twitter Files:Zucchini -Crusted Pizza

  1. I’m really bummed I decided not to plant zucchini in the garden this year. This recipe sounds yummy.

    And am I the only one who thinks it’s just plain WRONG to ever get rid of a Moosewood cookbook? (although great deal for you!)

  2. I love zucchini and am bookmarking your post right now to come back and make this recipe soon.
    I do not know this baggie trick for the cookbooks. I always figure the splatters are like a rating system for the recipe. The more gunk, the better the recipe. I recently browsed the cookbook of my great-grandma Nellie, who has long since passed on. I spotted a few pages with major splatters. I knew right away to choose recipes from those pages! They were well-loved. It made me think maybe it’s genetic. This unsanitary way to mark cookbook pages. :-)

  3. Interesting, I’ve never heard of zucchini pizza but love to eat this veggie with some squash and a tad bit of cheese…perhaps we will try this at home!

    Thanks for sharing!
    ~K

Say it

